League History

The League is relatively young compared to other’s being formed in 1922 as the Bedfordshire County League. With new clubs keen to join from outside the County it was decided in 1929 to change the name to the South Midlands League. The League continued to consolidate and strengthen over the ensuing 70 years or so providing quality football for many teams over a large area of the South Midlands. In 1997 it became apparent that the London Spartan League, which was very much to the South of the League’s geographical footprint, was struggling administratively and, with the full support of the Football Association, the decision was taken to merge the two competitions with the new League being known as the Spartan South Midlands League. The League now covers a wide area from North London in the South to Milton Keynes in the North and from Ware in the East to Aylesbury in the West.

The League is part of the FA’s National League System (NLS) and comprises of three Divisions; Premier at Step 5 of the NLS, Division One at Step 6 and Division Two at Step 7.

The League has a proud record of promoting clubs to Step 4 of the NLS and has also provided 4 FA Vase Finalists including two winners in Arlesey Town and Hoddesdon Town FC.



Eric Harrison


LJG Humm BEM, CMB Moyse


Pat Burns – email (H) – 01582 767075 (M) – 07763 109596


Tony Weight – email

(H) – 01462 811713 (M) – 07867 538206


Finance Officer & Company Secretary:

Martyn Mitchell – email (H) – 01582 667291


Peter Clayton – email (M) – 07050 107937

Match Appointments Officer: (Division One & Division Two)

Steve Hoare – email

Referee Liaison Officer:

Tony Weight – email

(H) – 01462 811713 (M) – 07867 538206

Administration & Registration Secretary:

Louise Condon – email (Office) – 01582 567728 (M) – 07984 308550

Fixture Officer & Webmaster:

Karen Browne – email (H) 01759 302278 (M) – 07807 338854

Management Board Members:

Pat Burns, John Chidley, Peter Clayton, Bob Flight, Tony Forrester, Bill Hamilton, Dave Henman, Mike Taylor, Tony Weight, Alan Banbury, Phil Pateman, Richard Willson.

FA Charter Standard Co-ordinator:

Larry Corkery – email

Referee Observer Co-ordinator:

Roger Abraham – email

RESPECT Programme Co-ordinator:

John Chidley – email

Committee Membership: Finance & General Purposes:

Pat Burns (Chair), Peter Clayton, Tony Forrester, Dave Henman, Martyn Mitchell, Phil Pateman, Tony Weight, Richard Willson, Louise Condon, Karen Browne

Discipline, Respect & Referees:

Mike Taylor (Chair), Pat Burns, Bob Flight, John Chidley, Peter Clayton, Bill Hamilton, Tony Weight – Roger Abraham, Louise Condon, Steve Hoare

Strategy, Planning & Development:

Tony Weight (Chair), Pat Burns, Peter Clayton, Bob Flight, Alan Banbury, John Chidley, Phil Pateman, Richard Willson.

Social Media Officers:

Jamie Appleby – email (M) – 07904 192441

Gina Teague – email (M) – 07925 310544

Non-League Paper Columnist:

Chris Mitchell (M) – 07884 074471

Corporate Information


Company Name:

The Spartan South Midlands Football League Limited

Registered Address:

C/o Spicer & Co UK Limited, Staple House, 5 Eleanor’s Cross, Dunstable, Bedfordshire LU6 1SU

Company Registration Number:



Company Secretary:

Martyn Mitchell
26 Leighton Court, Dunstable, Bedfordshire, LU6 1EW
email – (Home) – 01582 667291



Spicer & Co UK Limited, Chartered Accountants

League Administrator & Registration Secretary

Louise Condon
Bedfordshire FA
Century House, Skimpot Lane
Dunstable, Bedfordshire LU5 4JU – 01582 567714
(Mobile) –07984 308550

Fixture Officer

Karen Browne
15A Kilnwick Close, Pocklington
York YO42 2PR

(H) 01759 302278
(Mobile) – 07807 338854