Information

Information

League History

The League is relatively young compared to other’s being formed in 1922 as the Bedfordshire County League. With new clubs keen to join from outside the County it was decided in 1929 to change the name to the South Midlands League. The League continued to consolidate and strengthen over the ensuing 70 years or so providing quality football for many teams over a large area of the South Midlands. In 1997 it became apparent that the London Spartan League, which was very much to the South of the League’s geographical footprint, was struggling administratively and, with the full support of the Football Association, the decision was taken to merge the two competitions with the new League being known as the Spartan South Midlands League. The League now covers a wide area from North London in the South to Milton Keynes in the North and from Ware in the East to Aylesbury in the West.

The League is part of the FA’s National League System (NLS) and comprises of three Divisions; Premier at Step 5 of the NLS, Division One at Step 6 and Division Two at Step 7.

The League has a proud record of promoting clubs to Step 4 of the NLS and has also provided 4 FA Vase Finalists including two winners in Arlesey Town and Hoddesdon Town FC.

MANAGEMENT BOARD & COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

President:

Brian F Smith

LIFE VICE PRESIDENT:

T Clark, LJG Humm BEM, CMB Moyse

CHAIRMAN:

Pat Burns – email p.burns@ssmfl.co.uk (H) – 01582 767075 (M) – 07763 109596

VICE CHAIRMAN:

Tony Weight – email tony.weight@ssmfl.co.uk

(H) – 01462 811713 (M) – 07867 538206

GENERAL SECRETARY:

Finance Officer & Company Secretary:

Martyn Mitchell – email martyn.mitchell@ssmfl.co.uk (H) – 01582 667291

MATCH APPOINTMENTS OFFICER: (PREMIER DIVISION)

Peter Clayton – email peter.clayton@ssmfl.co.uk (M) – 07050 107937

Match Appointments Officer: (Division One & Division Two)

Chris Hartley – email c.hartley@ssmfl.co.uk

Referee Liaison Officer:

Tony Weight – email tony.weight@ssmfl.co.uk

(H) – 01462 811713 (M) – 07867 538206

Administration & Registration Secretary:

Louise Condon – email ssmfl@bedfordshirefa.com (Office) – 01582 567728 (M) – 07984 308550

Fixture Officer & Webmaster:

Karen Browne – email k.browne@ssmfl.co.uk (H) 01759 302278 (M) – 07807 338854

Management Board Members:

Pat Burns, John Chidley, Peter Clayton, Larry Corkrey, Bob Flight, Tony Forrester, Bill Hamilton, Dave Henman, Mike Taylor, Tony Weight, Alan Banbury, Nigel Hickes, Richard Willson.

FA Charter Standard Co-ordinator:

Larry Corkery – email larry.corkey@ssmfl.co.uk

Referee Observer Co-ordinator:

Roger Abraham – email r.abraham@ssmfl.co.uk

RESPECT Programme Co-ordinator:

John Chidley – email john.chidley@ssmfl.co.uk

Committee Membership: Finance & General Purposes:

Pat Burns (Chair), Peter Clayton, Larry Corkrey, Tony Forrester, Dave Henman, Martyn Mitchell, Louise Condon

Discipline, Respect & Referees:

Mike Taylor (Chair), Pat Burns, Bob Flight, John Chidley, Peter Clayton, Bill Hamilton, Tony Weight – Roger Abraham, Pete Hazel (ASSMLMO)

Strategy, Planning & Development:

Tony Weight (Chair), Pat Burns, Peter Clayton, Bob Flight, John Chidley.

Social Media Officers:

Jamie Appleby – email jamby1@yahoo.co.uk (M) – 07904 192441

Gina Teague – email ginat1303@gmail.com (M) – 07925 310544

Non-League Paper Columnist:

Chris Mitchell (M) – 07884 074471

Corporate Information

u

Company Name:

The Spartan South Midlands Football League Limited

Registered Address:

C/o Spicer & Co UK Limited, Staple House, 5 Eleanor’s Cross, Dunstable, Bedfordshire LU6 1SU

Company Registration Number:

09929798

j

Company Secretary:

Martyn Mitchell
26 Leighton Court, Dunstable, Bedfordshire, LU6 1EW
email – martyn.mitchell@ssmfl.co.uk (Home) – 01582 667291

q

Accountants:

Spicer & Co UK Limited, Chartered Accountants

League Administrator & Registration Secretary

Louise Condon
Bedfordshire FA
Century House, Skimpot Lane
Dunstable, Bedfordshire LU5 4JU

ssmfl@bedfordshirefa.com (Office) – 01582 567728
(Mobile) –07984 308550

Fixture Officer

Karen Browne
15A Kilnwick Close, Pocklington
York YO42 2PR

k.browne@ssmfl.co.uk

(H) 01759 302278
(Mobile) – 07807 338854